Gaynor Cup Set to Begin In Cincinnati – Professional Squash Association – PSA World Tour


The Cincinnati Gaynor Cup is the next stop of the year on the PSA World Tour for some of the world’s top female players, with the PSA World Tour Bronze event taking place between February 2-6 at the Cincinnati Country Club.

Round one action starts at 12:00 (GMT-5) on Wednesday February 2 and the tournament will be shown live on the PSA SQUASHTV YouTube channel.

The pick of the first round matches is an exciting clash between recent Cleveland Classic quarter finalist Sabrina Sobhy and Malaysian Open 2021 winner Aifa Azman. The winner of the match will set up a second round encounter with World No.2 and No.1 seed Nouran Gohar.

Recent Cleveland Classic winner Georgina Kennedy will be looking to continue her impressive form as she opens her account against Scotland’s Georgia Adderley. The pair haven’t met before on the PSA World Tour and the prize for the winner is a second round match with Indian No.1 Joshna Chinappa.

Having unfortunately missed the Cleveland Classic due to COVID-19, USA’s Amanda Sobhy is the No.2 seed for the event and will be determined to start strongly in her first event of 2022 and defend the title she won in 2020. Sobhy will face the winner of Egypt’s Mariam Metwally and Tessa ter Sluis.

Another highly anticipated round one match is between Malaysia’s Rachel Arnold and World No.22 Farida Mohamed. Arnold won the only previous meeting between the two at the 2021 PSA World Championships in Chicago. Arnold won that match 3-1 in 46 minutes and a tough match with No.5 seed Olivia Fiechter awaits the winner.

For updates from the Cincinnati Gaynor Cup, follow the PSA on Twitter and Facebook or watch the event on YouTube.

2022 Cincinnati Gaynor Cup: Draw
[1] Nouran Gohar (EGY) [bye]
Aifa Azman (MAS) v [9/16] Sabrina Sobhy (USA)
[9/16] Zeina Mickawy (EGY) v Haley Mendez (USA)
[8] Nele Gilis (BEL) [bye]
[6] Olivia Clyne (USA) [bye]
Ineta Mackevica (LAT) v [9/16] Hollie Naughton (CAN)
[9/16] Georgina Kennedy (ENG) v Nicole Bunyan (CAN)
[4] Joshna Chinappa (IND) v bye
[3] Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG) v bye
Cristina Gomez (ESP) v [9/16] Tinne Gilis (BEL)
[9/16] Sivasangari Subramaniam (MAS) v Emilia Soini (FIN)
[7] Tesni Evans (WAL) [bye]
[5] Olivia Fiechter (USA) [bye]
Rachel Arnold (MAS) v [9/16] Farida Mohamed (EGY)
[9/16] Danielle Letourneau (CAN) v Mariam Metwally (EGY
[2] Amanda Sobhy (USA) v [bye]